Partial
Mostly Aligned
Patient Risk:
Low
Summary
The AI response largely aligns on approved indication, route, and dosing frequency, mechanism of action, pregnancy registry, and certain safety cautions. It contains multiple non-labeled efficacy specifics and dosing nuances not supported by the label, and includes several statements that contradict the labeling (notably certain contraindications). Overall, the output is partially aligned with the official prescribing information.
Category Scores
Accurate Statements
Opzelura is FDA-approved for nonsegmental vitiligo in adults.
1.2
Opzelura is FDA-approved for nonsegmental vitiligo in children 12 years and older.
1.2
Opzelura is applied topically.
2.2
Opzelura is applied twice daily.
2.2
In Black patients, efficacy is similar to other racial groups despite higher baseline severity.
6.1
Pregnancy registry advised for reproductive-age patients.
8.1 Pregnancy Registry
Monitor for infections.
5.1
Not for active skin infections.
5.1
Unsupported Statements
The agency granted approval in October 2022.
Approval date not provided in the label.
In TRuE-V trials, 30% of patients achieved at least 75% improvement in facial Vitiligo Area Scoring Index (F-VASI75) after 24 weeks.
No such efficacy percentages provided in the label excerpt.
In TRuE-V trials, 10% on vehicle cream achieved at least 75% improvement in F-VASI75 after 24 weeks.
No such efficacy percentages provided in the label excerpt.
This promotes repigmentation from hair follicle reservoirs.
Not stated in label.
Facial areas respond faster than body areas.
Not stated in label.
Effects are sustained up to 52 weeks in trials.
Not stated in label.
Opzelura is prescribed for nonsegmental vitiligo (patchy, symmetric loss) on face, neck, arms, and trunk.
Not explicitly stated in label wording.
Not for segmental vitiligo.
Not explicitly stated; label indicates nonsegmental vitiligo indication only.
Not for full-body use.
Not stated; label allows up to 10% BSA.
Safe from age 12.
Label indicates indication for age 12 and older; safety claim not explicit.
In TRuE-V1, 29.9% achieved F-VASI75 at 24 weeks.
Not provided in label.
In TRuE-V2, 26.3% achieved F-VASI75 at 24 weeks.
Not provided in label.
Long-term: 52.9% F-VASI75 at 52 weeks with continued use.
Not provided in label.
Patient-reported: 50% facial improvement by week 24 per Vitiligo Noticeability Scale.
Not provided in label.
Real-world data mirrors trials, with 20-30% repigmentation in first months.
Not provided in label.
Mild application-site acne occurs in 20%.
Contradicted by label data in 6.1; actual incidence lower.
Itching occurs in 10%.
Contradicted by label data in 6.1; actual incidence lower.
Redness occurs in 8%.
Contradicted by label data in 6.1; actual incidence may differ.
Fever occurs in 3%.
Contradicted by label data in 6.1.
Rare serious risks include infections from JAK inhibition.
Not clearly supported or not clearly stated in the label excerpt.
Rare serious risks include malignancy from JAK inhibition.
Not clearly stated in the label excerpt.
Opzelura offers at-home convenience.
Not stated in label.
Opzelura outperforms placebo.
Not stated in label.
Opzelura is slower than phototherapy combinations.
Not stated in label.
List price is approximately $2,300 for a 60 g tube (2-month supply).
Not stated in label.
Copay cards reduce to $0-$25 for insured.
Not stated in label.
Covered by most plans for vitiligo.
Not stated in label.
No generic yet.
Not stated in label.
Patent expires around 2036.
Not stated in label.
Fails in 50-70% for full-body response.
Not stated in label.
Combine with light therapy for better odds.
Not stated in label.
In Black patients, efficacy is similar to other racial groups despite higher baseline severity.
Label supports this; include in accurate statements, not in unsupported.
Contradictions
Low
AI Statement
Mild application-site acne occurs in 20%.
Label Reference
6.1
Low
AI Statement
Itching occurs in 10%.
Label Reference
6.1
Low
AI Statement
Redness occurs in 8%.
Label Reference
6.1
Low
AI Statement
Fever occurs in 3%.
Label Reference
6.1
Low
AI Statement
Contraindicated in immunocompromised patients.
Label Reference
4
Low
AI Statement
Contraindicated in active cancer.
Label Reference
4
Important Omissions
No explicit approval date; no dosing amount (pea-sized) wording; no explicit 52-week efficacy data in label; no real-world data; no pricing or coverage data; no direct statement that not for segmental vitiligo.
Importance:
Moderate
Safety Assessment
Potential Patient Risk:
Low
Label discusses serious infections and other risks with JAK inhibition but overall risk with topical use is generally low; monitoring and infection precautions are warranted.
Regulatory Assessment
| On Label |
Yes |
| Off-label Discussion |
No |
| Promotes Unapproved Use |
No |
| Hallucination Risk |
Low |
Recommendation
Mostly Aligned
Primary Issue
Incorporate only label-supported claims; refrain from asserting non-labeled efficacy figures, dosing specifics not in label (e.g., pea-sized dosing), or pricing/coverage claims.
Suggested Improvement
Align all claims with the official label: clearly separate approved indications, dosing (thin layer, up to 10% BSA), frequency (BID), age range (12+), and warnings; remove non-supported efficacy data and marketing-type statements; ensure any statements about not being for segmental vitiligo are clearly supported by the indication scope.