Partial
Mostly Aligned
Patient Risk:
Low
Summary
Indication and dosing statements largely align with the label (narcolepsy, SWD, OSA; 150–250 mg daily dosing for OSA/narcolepsy; 150 mg for SWD; armodafinil 150 mg). Several PK, safety, and safety-management details are missing, mischaracterized, or not fully supported by the label (notably contraindications/boxed warnings, pediatric use, and certain renal/hepatic dosing nuances). Some statements conflict with the label (e.g., SWD dosing 200 mg before shift).
Category Scores
Accurate Statements
Modafinil is a racemic mixture (R- and S-enantiomers).
11
Armodafinil is the R-enantiomer (active form).
11
Armodafinil uses indications identical to modafinil (OSA, narcolepsy, SWD).
1
Typical dose (adult): Modafinil 200 mg/day (single dose).
2.1, 2.2
Armodafinil: 150 mg/day (single dose).
2.1, 2.2
Armodafinil Tmax ~2 hours (fasted); fed state may delay Tmax by ~2–4 hours.
12.3
Armodafinil: Peak plasma concentration ~2–5 hours after dosing.
12.3
Armodafinil: Metabolism involves CYP3A4/3A5 with metabolites; two major metabolites reach appreciable concentrations (acid and sulfone).
12.3
Armodafinil half-life is ~15 hours.
12.3
Headache, nausea, insomnia, anxiety/irritability, palpitations, and rare events occur with modafinil/armodafinil.
6
Strong CYP3A4 inducers/inhibitors affect modafinil/armodafinil levels; CYP2C19 interactions also noted; alcohol interaction; CNS stimulant interactions discussed.
7
Practical considerations: Modafinil widely available generically; armodafinil less so; cost considerations noted.
6
Armodafinil may have slightly fewer GI complaints than modafinil.
6
Armodafinil: The R-enantiomer drives wake-promoting activity and armodafinil has a longer half-life than modafinil.
12.3
Unsupported Statements
Modafinil mechanism of action includes activation of orexin and histamine pathways.
Label 12.1 indicates DAT inhibition and wake-promoting activity; no explicit statement about orexin/histamine pathway activation.
Modafinil excretion: 70–80% unchanged via kidneys; 20–30% as metabolites.
Label data indicate <10% excreted unchanged; majority excreted as metabolites.
Modafinil half-life: 12–15 h.
No explicit modafinil half-life value provided in the cited PK section for modafinil in the label excerpts.
Peak plasma concentration for modafinil ~2–4 h.
Peak time for modafinil is not specified in the provided label excerpts.
Dosing titration with stepwise increases (50 mg for modafinil; 25 mg for armodafinil) every 1–2 weeks.
Label does not specify titration guidelines in the provided sections.
Meal interaction: Modafinil absorption increases with food; armodafinil should be taken on an empty stomach or with a light meal.
Label indicates minimal food effect for armodafinil and potential delay in Tmax with food; no claim that modafinil absorption increases with food is supported by the provided label.
Bottom Line — Effectiveness: Both drugs are similarly effective for narcolepsy, SWD, and residual daytime sleepiness in OSA.
Label does not provide a single combined bottom-line conclusion; efficacy is demonstrated in separate lines of evidence per indication.
Bottom Line — Duration: Armodafinil’s longer half-life may provide a smoother wakefulness profile for night-shift workers.
Label provides pharmacokinetic half-life but does not frame a qualitative conclusion this way.
Bottom Line — Side Effects: Armodafinil may cause slightly fewer GI complaints.
Label data on GI complaints exist but a direct comparative statement is not explicitly stated as a bottom-line conclusion in the label.
Contradictions
Low
AI Statement
Dosing in SWD: Modafinil 200 mg 30–60 minutes before shift.
Label Reference
2.2
High
AI Statement
Modafinil excretion: 70–80% unchanged via kidneys; 20–30% as metabolites.
Label Reference
12.3
High
AI Statement
Peak plasma concentration: Modafinil ~2–4 h after dosing.
Label Reference
12.3
High
AI Statement
Pregnancy: Modafinil category B; use only if benefits outweigh risks.
Label Reference
8
Important Omissions
Contraindications (e.g., hypersensitivity to modafinil/armodafinil or excipients) and boxed-warning language (e.g., serious rash).
Importance:
High
Pediatric safety and use in pediatric populations.
Importance:
High
Boxed warnings (serious dermatologic reactions/DRESS/angioedema, etc.).
Importance:
High
Detail on monitoring recommendations related to drug interactions and adverse events.
Importance:
Moderate
Storage and handling specifics (where relevant).
Importance:
Low
Safety Assessment
Potential Patient Risk:
Low
Indication and dosing claims align with label; major safety gaps exist (contraindications, boxed warnings, pediatric use, precise renal dosing) that could affect safety if not correctly followed.
Regulatory Assessment
| On Label |
Yes |
| Off-label Discussion |
No |
| Promotes Unapproved Use |
No |
| Hallucination Risk |
Low |
Recommendation
Mostly Aligned
Primary Issue
Missing/incorrect safety statements (contraindications, boxed warnings, pediatric use) and some dosing specifics (SWD dosing, renal dosing claims) not fully aligned with label.
Suggested Improvement
Cross-check against current FDA labeling for Provigil (modafinil) and Nuvigil (armodafinil): (a) explicitly state contraindications and boxed warnings if present; (b) provide accurate pregnancy/pediatric guidance per sections 8 and related; (c) verify renal/hepatic dose adjustments; (d) correct any dosing statements not supported by label (e.g., SWD modafinil 200 mg before shift); (e) distinguish PK statements that are supported vs. not in the provided label excerpts.