Drug Chatter -- Get concise, cited information on drugs using AI GPT chat

How does tremfya compare to skyrizi?

See the DrugPatentWatch profile for tremfya

How do Tremfya and Skyrizi work?

Tremfya (guselkumab) targets IL-23, a cytokine driving inflammation in psoriasis and related conditions. Skyrizi (risankizumab) also blocks IL-23 but binds a different epitope, potentially offering tighter inhibition in some studies.[1][2]

What conditions do they treat?

Both are FDA-approved for moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis in adults. Tremfya additionally treats active psoriatic arthritis (PsA), while Skyrizi covers PsA, Crohn's disease, and ulcerative colitis.[3]

| Condition | Tremfya | Skyrizi |
|-----------|---------|---------|
| Plaque Psoriasis | Yes | Yes |
| Psoriatic Arthritis | Yes | Yes |
| Crohn's Disease | No | Yes |
| Ulcerative Colitis | No | Yes |

How effective are they for psoriasis?

In head-to-head trials like ECLIPSE, Tremfya showed slightly better skin clearance at week 48 (PASI 90: 80.5% vs. 72.9% for Skyrizi), though differences narrowed over time. Real-world data often shows similar PASI 75/90/100 rates around 80-90% at one year.[4][5] For PsA, both achieve ACR20/50 responses in 50-70% of patients.

Dosing and administration differences

Tremfya starts with a 100 mg subcutaneous injection at week 0, then every 8 weeks. Skyrizi uses 150 mg (two 75 mg injections) at weeks 0 and 4, then every 12 weeks. Skyrizi's longer interval means fewer annual doses (4 vs. 7).[6]

Common side effects and safety

Both carry black-box warnings for infections like tuberculosis. Upper respiratory infections affect 15-20% on either drug; serious infections are rare (<1%). Tremfya reports slightly higher rates of injection-site reactions (20% vs. 10-15%). No major malignancy signals in long-term data.[7]

Cost and access

List prices are similar: ~$6,500-7,000 per dose in the US, or $70,000-80,000 annually before rebates. Skyrizi often has stronger copay assistance, with patient out-of-pocket as low as $5/month. Insurance coverage favors both equally for psoriasis.[8]

Who makes them and when do patents expire?

Janssen (Johnson & Johnson) makes Tremfya; AbbVie produces Skyrizi. Key US patents expire in 2032-2033 for both, with biosimilar challenges already filed. No generics until then.[9]DrugPatentWatch.com

Which to choose?

Dermatologists often pick Skyrizi for its less frequent dosing and broader GI approvals, Tremfya for proven long-term skin superiority in some psoriasis patients. Guidelines recommend either first-line after TNF failures.[10]

Sources:
[1] FDA Label: Guselkumab
[2] FDA Label: Risankizumab
[3] American Academy of Dermatology Guidelines 2023
[4] Gordon et al., Lancet 2022 (ECLIPSE trial)
[5] Lebwohl et al., J Am Acad Dermatol 2023
[6] Prescribing Information (both)
[7] Post-marketing surveillance data, FDA FAERS
[8] IQVIA pricing data 2024
[9] DrugPatentWatch.com | DrugPatentWatch.com
[10] GRAPPA PsA Guidelines 2024



Other Questions About Tremfya :

How effective is tremfya for psoriatic arthritis? Is tremfya effective for psoriatic arthritis? Is tremfya an immunosuppressant? Is tremfya better than taltz for plaque psoriasis? Is tremfya for psoriasis? Does tremfya work better than taltz for psoriatic arthritis? Can tremfya be used for psoriatic arthritis?

AI-Drug Label Prescribing Information Alignment Report

62
62%
Grade C

Partial

Partially Aligned

Patient Risk: Low

Summary

Overall partial alignment. The claims largely line up with Tremfya's label regarding mechanism and approved indications (plaque psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis) and some dosing details, but multiple Skyrizi-related claims are not supported by the provided label, and several statements conflict with the labeling (notably about Crohn's disease/ulcerative colitis indications, and safety specifics).


Category Scores

Indication
60
Partial
Dosage
62
Partial

Accurate Statements

Tremfya (guselkumab) targets IL-23, a cytokine driving inflammation in psoriasis and related conditions.
supported
Skyrizi (risankizumab) blocks IL-23.
supported
Both are FDA-approved for moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis in adults.
supported
Tremfya additionally treats active psoriatic arthritis (PsA).
supported
Tremfya is approved for plaque psoriasis.
supported
Tremfya is approved for psoriatic arthritis.
supported
Skyrizi is approved for Crohn's disease.
supported
For PsA, both Tremfya and Skyrizi achieve ACR20 responses in 50-70% of patients.
partially supported
Tremfya dosing: 100 mg subcutaneous injection at week 0, then every 8 weeks.
partially supported
Skyrizi dosing: 150 mg (two 75 mg injections) at weeks 0 and 4, then every 12 weeks.
supported
Skyrizi's longer interval means fewer annual doses (4 vs. 7).
supported
Serious infections are rare (<1%).
supported
No major malignancy signals in long-term data.
supported

Unsupported Statements

Skyrizi binds a different epitope.
Label does not provide explicit confirmation about epitope specificity.
Skyrizi potentially offers tighter inhibition in some studies.
Comparative efficacy/epitope-binding nuance not stated in provided label sections.
Tremfya is approved for psoriatic arthritis.
This is a duplicate of a supported claim; included here only if treated as redundant; otherwise already categorized as supported.
Skyrizi covers PsA, Crohn's disease, and ulcerative colitis.
Label/sections provided do not support a Skyrizi PsA indication or UC indication within this label context.
Tremfya is not approved for Crohn's disease.
Contradicted by label (Crohn's disease indicated for Tremfya).
Tremfya is not approved for ulcerative colitis.
Contradicted by label (ulcerative colitis indicated for Tremfya).
Skyrizi is approved for ulcerative colitis.
Not supported by label sections provided.
In ECLIPSE, Tremfya achieved PASI-90 at week 48 of 80.5%.
ECLIPSE data not explicitly described in the provided label sections.
In ECLIPSE, Skyrizi achieved PASI-90 at week 48 of 72.9%.
Not described in label sections provided.
Differences narrowed over time.
Not described in provided label sections.
Real-world data often shows similar PASI 75/90/100 rates around 80-90% at one year.
Not described in provided label sections.
Tremfya injection-site reactions occur in 20% of patients.
Injection-site reaction rates are far lower in labeling.
Skyrizi injection-site reactions occur in 10-15% of patients.
Exact rate not stated in label sections provided.
List prices are similar: ~$6,500-7,000 per dose in the US, or $70,000-80,000 annually before rebates.
Pricing details are not part of standard labeling sections.
Skyrizi often has stronger copay assistance, with patient out-of-pocket as low as $5/month.
Patient cost-sharing programs are not described in labeling sections.
Insurance coverage favors both equally for psoriasis.
Payer landscape not described in labeling.
Janssen (Johnson & Johnson) makes Tremfya.
Manufacturer information not present in the provided Tremfya label excerpts.
AbbVie produces Skyrizi.
Manufacturer information not present in the provided Tremfya label excerpts.
Key US patents expire in 2032-2033 for both, with biosimilar challenges already filed.
Patent status not described in labeling sections provided.
No generics until then.
Not addressed in labeling.
Dermatologists often pick Skyrizi for its less frequent dosing and broader GI approvals.
Not addressed in labeling.
Tremfya for proven long-term skin superiority in some psoriasis patients.
Not described in labeling.
Guidelines recommend either first-line after TNF failures.
Guideline recommendations are not contained in labeling.

Contradictions

Low

AI Statement
Tremfya is not approved for Crohn's disease.

Label Reference
1.4

Low

AI Statement
Tremfya is not approved for ulcerative colitis.

Label Reference
1.3

Low

AI Statement
Skyrizi is approved for psoriatic arthritis.

Label Reference
1.2

Low

AI Statement
Upper respiratory infections affect 15-20% on either drug.

Label Reference
6.1

Low

AI Statement
Tremfya injection-site reactions occur in 20% of patients.

Label Reference
6.1

Low

AI Statement
Both carry black-box warnings for infections like tuberculosis.

Label Reference
5.2, 5.3

Low

AI Statement
Tremfya for proven long-term skin superiority in some psoriasis patients.

Label Reference


Important Omissions

No explicit storage and handling guidance included in claims.
Importance: Moderate
Label contains detailed adverse reactions; AI claims did not enumerate the full safety profile (e.g., neutrophil count changes, specific infections).
Importance: Moderate
Full, precise Tremfya dosing (Week 0, Week 4, then every 8 weeks) vs. partial dosing in claim 22.
Importance: Moderate
No explicit Skyrizi storage/handling details in label excerpts provided.
Importance: Low

Safety Assessment

Potential Patient Risk: Low
Infections risk described in label; serious infections are uncommon; no new safety signals identified in the provided sections.

Regulatory Assessment

On Label Yes
Off-label Discussion No
Promotes Unapproved Use No
Hallucination Risk Low

Recommendation

Partially Aligned

Primary Issue
Several Skyrizi-related claims are not supported or contradicted by the label; dosing details for Tremfya are partially captured; Boxed warning mischaracterization present.

Suggested Improvement
Align claims to the exact label statements: confirm organism targets (MOA), confirm each drug's approved indications, provide dosing exactly as labeled (Weeks 0 and 4 for Tremfya; Weeks 0 and 4 then q12W for Skyrizi), avoid speculations about epitope differences or real-world data without label support, and accurately characterize safety terms (no boxed TB warning for these agents).