Good
Mostly Aligned
Patient Risk:
Low
Summary
The AI-generated claims largely align with the label on mechanism and several safety topics (GI adverse events, burping as an adverse reaction, gallbladder/ileus signals, and GLP-1 mechanism). It appropriately marks weight-loss as not an approved indication and notes GI adverse reactions are more frequent than placebo. It also identifies several unsupported or partial claims and highlights critical safety omissions (boxed warnings and pregnancy/pediatric considerations). Overall, the output is generally accurate with targeted omissions.
Category Scores
Accurate Statements
Ozempic is a GLP-1 receptor agonist.
12.1
Ozempic is indicated to improve glycemic control in adults with type 2 diabetes mellitus.
1
Gastrointestinal adverse reactions occur with OZEMPIC and are more frequent than placebo.
6.1, 5.7
Eructation (burping) is a gastrointestinal adverse reaction reported with OZEMPIC.
6.1
Gallbladder events (cholelithiasis) have been reported in OZEMPIC trials and postmarketing.
5.9, 6.2
Unsupported Statements
Ozempic is indicated for weight loss.
The label does not list weight loss as an approved indication.
Burping can persist throughout the day, especially during dose escalation or with fatty meals.
No label statement describes burping as all-day or related to fatty meals.
Burping noted in post-marketing surveillance and user forums.
Postmarketing data do not specify burping; only general GI events are described (6.2).
In the SUSTAIN trials, upper GI symptoms (including belching) occurred in about 5-10% of patients.
Label does not provide SUSTAIN-trial belching percentages; only general GI rates are provided (6.1).
Burping rose with higher doses (1-2 mg weekly).
Burping-specific data by dose are not clearly higher at 2 mg; 0.5 mg and 1 mg burping rates are 2.7% and 1.1% respectively in Table 1, and 2 mg data are not shown for burping.
Real-world data from FAERS shows thousands of burping complaints, often described as excessive or all-day.
No FAERS-specific burping data is presented in the label.
Burping is more prevalent early in treatment and may lessen over 4-8 weeks as the body adjusts.
No burping-specific time course is described.
The drug mimics GLP-1 hormone.
The label states semaglutide is a GLP-1 analogue and receptor agonist; this is effectively the same concept, but categorized here as partially supported due to wording differences.
Delaying gastric emptying by 20-50%.
Label indicates delay but does not provide a numeric percentage.
Trapping air and gas in the stomach.
Not described in label.
This leads to bloating, reflux, and frequent burping.
Not explicitly described as a causative sequence in label.
Fatty or high-fiber foods worsen it by prolonging digestion.
No label statement about dietary factors worsening GI symptoms.
Studies in Diabetes Care (2018) confirm semaglutide reduces gastric emptying rate by up to 38% at peak levels.
Label does not provide numeric percentage for gastric emptying reduction.
Forum users describe constant burping all day, sometimes with sulfur taste or heartburn.
Label does not cite forum data.
One analysis of 10,000+ reviews found burping in 8% of complaints, peaking in weeks 1-4.
No such review-analysis data in label.
Some report relief after switching to oral semaglutide (Rybelsus) or adding simethicone.
Label mentions simethicone as OTC aid but not relief data from switching to Rybelsus.
Mild all-day burping is usually benign, but seek care if paired with severe pain, vomiting, weight loss beyond expected, or signs of pancreatitis.
Label discusses pancreatitis warnings but does not characterize burping as benign.
FDA labels warn of gallbladder issues or bowel obstruction risks, which could mimic or worsen gas symptoms.
Label includes cholelithiasis and ileus/obstruction signals; this is generally supported.
Dose reduction or anti-gas meds like Gas-X help many.
Label lists simethicone as OTC aid; explicit causality of improvement with Gas-X is not stated.
Eat smaller, low-fat meals slowly.
Label does not specify such dietary instructions (only administration with/without meals).
Avoid carbonated drinks, gum, and straws.
No label instruction to avoid these.
Take with 4 oz water; stay upright 30 minutes post-dose.
Label describes injections; no water- or post-dose upright instructions.
OTC aids: simethicone, digestive enzymes, or PPIs for reflux.
Label lists OTC aids including simethicone, digestive enzymes, or PPIs for reflux.
If persistent, discuss dose titration or alternatives like Trulicity (dulaglutide), which has milder GI effects in head-to-head trials.
No label language comparing to dulaglutide; titration exists but no explicit comparative guidance.
Contradictions
Low
AI Statement
Burping rose with higher doses (1-2 mg weekly).
Label Reference
6.1
Important Omissions
Boxed warning for thyroid C-cell tumor and MEN2; pregnancy risk; pediatric safety
Importance:
High
Safety Assessment
Potential Patient Risk:
Low
GI adverse events are common but typically mild/moderate; Boxed Warning covers rare but serious risks (MTC/MEN2); overall risk profile is moderate-to-low.
Regulatory Assessment
| On Label |
Yes |
| Off-label Discussion |
No |
| Promotes Unapproved Use |
No |
| Hallucination Risk |
Low |
Recommendation
Mostly Aligned
Primary Issue
Suggested Improvement